Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art: The Dinner Party: Heritage Floor: Imogen Cunningham

signature image

Judy Chicago (American, b. 1939). The Dinner Party (Heritage Floor; detail), 1974–79. Porcelain with rainbow and gold luster, 48 x 48 x 48 ft. (14.6 x 14.6 x 14.6 m). Brooklyn Museum, Gift of the Elizabeth A. Sackler Foundation, 2002.10. © Judy Chicago. Photograph by Jook Leung Photography

Imogen Cunningham
b. 1883, Portland, Oregon; d. 1976, San Francisco

Imogen Cunningham was an American modernist photographer who became known for her botanical studies, particularly of calla lilies. Early on, her photographs were influenced by the Pictorialist Gertrude Käsebier, whose work was published in Alfred Stieglitz's Camera Work. After working as a technician at the studio of Edward Curtis in Seattle, Cunningham received a scholarship to study in Dresden. In 1910, upon returning to Seattle, she opened her own photographic studio, which she operated until 1915. During this time, in addition to working as a commercial photographer, Cunningham photographed her friends in Pictorial works that were inspired by the writings of William Morris. In the early 1920s, after moving to San Francisco and working in the studio of Francis Bruguière, Cunningham began making photographs of natural forms. In 1929, she was a participant in the Film und Foto exhibition held in Stuttgart, and in the early 1930s became one of the early founders of Group f/64.

Related Place Setting

Georgia O'Keeffe

Related Heritage Floor Entries

Dorothy Arzner
Marie Bashkirtsev
Sarah Bernhardt
Rosa Bonheur
Julia Cameron
Emily Carr
Mary Cassatt
Sonia Delaunay
Maya Deren
Isadora Duncan
Eleanor Duse
Edith Evans
Natalia Goncharova
Martha Graham
Eileen Gray
Sophia Haydn
Katharine Hepburn
Barbara Hepworth
Hannah Hoch

Harriet Hosmer
Frida Kahlo
Ida Kaminska
Gertrude Kasebier
Kathe Kollwitz
Dorothea Lange
Marie Laurencin
Mary Louise McLaughlin
Paula Modersohn-Becker
Julia Morgan
Berthe Morisot
Gabriele Münter
Louise Nevelson
Elizabeth Ney
Anna Pavlova
Augusta Savage
Sophie Taeuber-Arp
Suzanne Valadon