Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art: The Dinner Party: Heritage Floor: Inesse Armand

signature image

Judy Chicago (American, b. 1939). The Dinner Party (Heritage Floor; detail), 1974–79. Porcelain with rainbow and gold luster, 48 x 48 x 48 ft. (14.6 x 14.6 x 14.6 m). Brooklyn Museum, Gift of the Elizabeth A. Sackler Foundation, 2002.10. © Judy Chicago. Photograph by Jook Leung Photography

Inesse Armand
b. 1874, Paris; d. 1920, Saint Petersburg

The correct spelling of this name is INESSA ARMAND.

Inessa Armand led the pioneering effort for female equality and women's rights within the Communist movement in Russia and beyond. In 1907, she was sentenced to prison in Siberia for distributing illegal propaganda; upon her release, she moved to Paris, where she met Vladmir Lenin and other Bolsheviks living in exile. In 1911, Armand was elected secretary of the Committee of Foreign Organizations, formed to coordinate all Bolshevik groups throughout Western Europe. Her political commitment to peace and women's equality led her to Switzerland, where she established the antiwar International Conference of Socialist Women in 1915. After the October Revolution of 1917, Armand served as an executive member of the Moscow Soviet, and then as director of Zhenotdel, which fought for women's equality within trade unions and the Communist Party. In 1920, she chaired the First International Conference of Communist Women. She died of cholera shortly after.

Related Place Setting

Margaret Sanger

Related Heritage Floor Entries

Jane Addams
Sylvia Ashton-Warner
Angelica Balbanoff
Catherine Beecher
Ruth Benedict
Yekaterina Breshkovskaya
Rachel Carson
Dorothea Dix
Vera Figner
Elizabeth Gurley Flynn
Elizabeth Fry
Emma Goldman
Dolores Ibarruri
Mary "Mother" Jones
Rachel Katznelson
Helen Keller
Aleksandra Kollantay
Nadezhda Krupskaya
Rosa Luxemburg
Margaret Mead

Golda Meir
Louise Michel
Katti Moeler
Maria Montessori
Federica Montseny
Emma Paterson
Frances Perkins
Sofia Perovskaya
Gabrielle Petit
Jeannette Rankin
Ellen Richards
Eleanor Roosevelt
Augustina Saragossa
Hannah Senesh
Marie Stopes
Henrietta Szold
Beatrice Webb
Vera Zasulich
Clara Zetkin