Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art: The Dinner Party: Heritage Floor: Margaret of Navarre

signature image

François Clouet. Marguerite de Navarre, n.d. Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris

Margaret of Navarre
b. 1492, Angoulême, France; d. 1549, Odos-Bigorre, France

Margaret of Navarre, an exemplar of French Renaissance sensibility, gained her title through a second marriage, to Henry of Navarre, in 1525. She was already a powerful woman in France, however, as sister to the king, Francis I. A humanist, an advocate of church reform, and a litterateur herself, Margaret patronized innovative writers and protected victims of religious persecution. Among them was François Rabelais, author of the comic-satiric, often scatalogical Gargantua and Pantagruel, condemned by the Sorbonne and the Parlement of Paris as heretical; the third book of this masterwork is dedicated to Margaret. Despite her sympathy to religious tolerance, she was not a Calvinist, and relations with her daughter, Jeanne d'Albret—"Queen of the Huguenots"—became strained. Margaret's literary production included poems and plays addressing religious and moral issues. Her most significant contribution, the Heptameron, modeled on Boccaccio's

Related Place Setting

Elizabeth R.

Related Heritage Floor Entries

Anna Sophia
Anne Bacon
Catherine II
Catherine of Aragon
Georgiana Cavendish
Christina of Sweden
Jeanne D'Albret
Elizabeth Danviers
Maria de Coste Blanche
Penette de Guillet
Isabella de Joya Roseres
Maria-Christine de Lalaing
Catherine Fisher
Kenau Hasselaer
Elizabeth Hoby
Isabella of Castile
Jane of Sutherland
Sarah Jennings

Helene Kottauer
Isabella Losa
Elizabeth Lucar
Margaret of Austria
Margaret of Desmond
Margaret of Scandinavia
Maria Theresa
Mary of Hungary
Gracia Mendesa
Grace O'Malley
Catherine Pavlovna
Elizabeth Petrovna
Philippa of Hainault
Oliva Sabuco
Mary Sidney
Sophia of Mechlenberg
Elizabeth Talbot
Jane Weston