Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art: The Dinner Party: Heritage Floor: Henrietta Szold

signature image

Judy Chicago (American, b. 1939). The Dinner Party (Heritage Floor; detail), 1974–79. Porcelain with rainbow and gold luster, 48 x 48 x 48 ft. (14.6 x 14.6 x 14.6 m). Brooklyn Museum, Gift of the Elizabeth A. Sackler Foundation, 2002.10. © Judy Chicago. Photograph by Jook Leung Photography

Henrietta Szold
b. 1860, Baltimore; d. 1945, Jerusalem

Henrietta Szold organized numerous groups dedicated to zionist efforts, including Hebras Zion, one of the earliest such groups in the United States, and Hadassah, a women's society. Szold was the daughter of a rabbi and taught in his synagogue from an early age. From 1893 to 1916, she served as editorial secretary of the Jewish Publication Society. During a trip to Palestine in 1909, Szold became convinced of the need for a Jewish state and by 1916 she was devoting all of her energies to the zionist cause. She organized new chapters of Hadassah, coordinated the Palestinian activities of the American Zionist Medical Unit, and led the Histadrut Nashim Ivriot (Jewish Women's Organization) as president. In 1933, she directed the Youth Aliyah, which relocated children from Nazi Germany to Palestine. Her work for children continued with the founding of Lemaan ha-Yeled, which was renamed the Szold Foundation after her death.

Related Place Setting

Margaret Sanger

Related Heritage Floor Entries

Jane Addams
Inesse Armand
Sylvia Ashton-Warner
Angelica Balbanoff
Catherine Beecher
Ruth Benedict
Yekaterina Breshkovskaya
Rachel Carson
Dorothea Dix
Vera Figner
Elizabeth Gurley Flynn
Elizabeth Fry
Emma Goldman
Dolores Ibarruri
Mary "Mother" Jones
Rachel Katznelson
Helen Keller
Aleksandra Kollantay
Nadezhda Krupskaya
Rosa Luxemburg

Margaret Mead
Golda Meir
Louise Michel
Katti Moeler
Maria Montessori
Federica Montseny
Emma Paterson
Frances Perkins
Sofia Perovskaya
Gabrielle Petit
Jeannette Rankin
Ellen Richards
Eleanor Roosevelt
Augustina Saragossa
Hannah Senesh
Marie Stopes
Beatrice Webb
Vera Zasulich
Clara Zetkin