Skip main navigation
2012 Sackler Center First Awardee Marin Alsop
Participant Marin Alsop

The Sackler Center First Awards is an annual event honoring extraordinary women who are first in their fields. Presented by Elizabeth Sackler and Gloria Steinem, the award is designed by Judy Chicago. In 2012, fifteen women were honored at this inaugural program: Marin Alsop, Connie Chung, Johnnetta B. Cole, Wilhelmina Cole Holladay, Sandy Lerner, Lucy R. Lippard, Chief Wilma Mankiller (posthumous), Toni Morrison, Linda Nochlin, Jessye Norman, Associate Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (Ret.), Judith Rodin, Muriel Siebert, Susan Stroman, and Faye Wattleton – with a special award presentation to Gloria Steinem.